European landscape convention 2000

On July 19, 2000, the Council of Europe adopted a European Landscape Convention. This is based on the cultural, ecological, environmental and social contribution of landscapes and aims to reinforce the tools of protection and valorisation, particularly in policies on agriculture, territorial development and urban development. Furthermore, the convention encourages a process of identification and qualification of landscapes and underlines the need to develop the awareness and training of the players concerned.

“The landscape contributes to the formation of local cultures and is a basic component of the European natural and cultural heritage, contributing to human well being and the consolidation of the European identity (…) the landscape is an important part of the quality of life of people everywhere: in urban areas and in the countryside, in degraded areas as well as areas of high quality, in areas recognised as being of outstanding beauty as well as everyday areas”.


UNESCO world heritage

UNESCO (the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation) encourages the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage throughout the world considered to have exceptional value for humanity. This approach is the subject of an international treaty – The convention concerning the protection of world cultural and natural heritage, adopted by UNESC0 in 1972.

Wine-growing landscapes are generally recognised among the most remarkable landscapes resulting from human activity, both by the mark they impose on the territory and the cultural traditions associated with them. Since 1992, the date of the introduction of the category of cultural landscapes into the World Heritage List, several major wine-growing sites have been listed. This is the case regarding the old Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion in the Bordeaux region, the Loire Valley in France, Cinque Terre in Italy, the wine regions of Alto Duoro in Portugal, Tokaj in Hungary, the Upper Middle Rhine Valley in Germany, Wachau in Austria, Pico Island in Portugal and Lavaux in Switzerland.

Council of Europe > European landscape convention

Council of Europe > What would you like to know about this treaty?

Jurisdiction of St Emilion, France
Ervamoîra, Portugal
Cinque Terre Italy
Lavaux, Switzerland